Writing Adventures in Abstraction

Somewhere, past the human comprehension of the “nth” dimension, he perches on the cusp of death, teetering on the edge, damnation waiting below like the gaping maw of a monster.  An angel ushers him through the towering pearly gates, ornately decorated with gilded finials and diamond encrusted gate posts, worth more than all the riches in the world.  He floats in amorphous space, no gravity to pull him down.  The laws of physics do not apply here.  Everything is white, as if the sky has been bleached, so pure it nearly burns his eyes.  On bended knee, he clasps his hands together and grovels before the Lord.  This is the moment he’s been waiting for, a culmination of his good deeds and piety.  Is it enough for eternal salvation?

God speaks, his voice is everywhere and nowhere at the same time, as if emanating from the air itself, “Sinners go to hell.”

He screams.  The monster swallows him whole.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

To be continued. . .

I thought of a cool story idea today.  This piece is kind of an experimental love story. There’s no romance yet obviously XD  It’s basically a series of memories, nightmares, and reality pieced together to make a cohesive story.  I don’t have a title for it yet.  Hopefully the story will be clear to the reader once I have the whole thing written down.  It will probably be 3-4k words.  I’m trying to break out of the box and write less formulaic pieces.  I guess the funny thing is that the idea just came to me as I was thinking of other ideas.  My writer friend A also helped me develop it.  The beginning is always the hardest part for me, so now that I have it down, the rest will be relatively easy.

Leave a Reply

