Writing Newbie Mistake

So I’m an idiot.  Apparently publishing the entirety of a short story on your blog or Fictionpress is considered prior publishing.  I found a few that didn’t mind it, but most do.  It makes sense.  What’s the appeal of putting a story in a magazine if it’s out floating on the internet for free.  So I went back and deleted them off of Fictionpress, and will be making them private on my blog.  I can repost them again a certain time after publication, assuming they get published.  Ugh, I feel sick to my stomach and like an idiot 😦  I googled excerpts of my stories and now they are only showing up on this blog.  With novels you can post excerpts as long as it’s not the whole thing.  But novels often change significantly from the first draft.

So I have found a few publications (including a few notable ones like Glimmer Train) that say it’s okay to send in previously published works or don’t specify.  Most of the prestigious publications want first publication rights though.

25 thoughts on “Writing Newbie Mistake

  1. Oh gosh, I’m sorry that happened to you. I didn’t know that either. I’m sure it’s happened to so many others though, and if the publishers don’t accept your work because it’s “prior publishing”, I’m sure you’ll come up with more wonderful works. You always do. 🙂 I hope you feel better soon.

  2. Thanks 🙂 Yeah, I will probably post excerpts of my short stories in the future and only on this blog. Or I might post it and then make it private after a week or so. If you can completely delete the online presence then you can submit it as unpublished. But if anyone shares your stuff or plagiarizes it, then it gets really tricky. I’ll be able to repost it in the future. I’ve been posting on a Writing Critique site, but only members can view it, so apparently that is okay . Gimmer Magazine, one of the most famous literary contests, allows prior publishing on blogs. I felt bad for the people who faved my stuff on Fictionpress XD I apologized :$

  3. Just read through your blog, now that I have the link again. Remember my dear, that ignorance is not idiocracy, and you are just learning the ropes. At least you found out before you wrote more 😉 we will see them oneday in print 🙂

    • This made me giggle :3 Yeah, I cleared it out, but they are still cached. Supposedly that gets deleted after a few weeks. We’ll see. Nothing I can do about it now. Glad I figured this out before I posted more stories.

    • Yes, that’s very true 🙂 I met some awesome ladies on Fictionpress and I might just PM my future stories to them for critique. I’m part of a critique website that is password protected and that is okay. But I gave away my story’s rights to Fictionpress, lol. Apparently with novels it’s not a big deal to post excerpts. But since short stories are so short it makes sense. At some point I’ll have enough for a short story collection 🙂 Some literary journals do accept prior publications, but most of them aren’t the prestigious journals. Glimmer Train says it’s okay to publish on your blog so I’ll be entering their contest at the end of this year and a few others. Some of them don’t specify, but I can’t send it in to the ones that specify. I don’t want to be ostracized from the literary world over a short story.

    • It’s better to be safe, especially when a novel is concerned. I’ll be able to write more short stories, but it takes a long time to write a novel. I’m glad I learned this now instead of many short stories later. The actual stories didn’t take that long to write, but the editing did XD There are a few publications I can submit to, but most of the prestigious ones (like 95%) specify no prior online publishing.

    • Yeah :/ Well you can publish them as much as you want after you have been published. Like 90 days after. Soooo, yeah, lesson learned. And writing critique sites that are password protected are okay.

  4. What’s Fictionpress? I’ve never heard of it. I hope everything works out for you. Hopefully, some magazines will still accept your short stories.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

      • Thanks for replying. I’ll check out Fiction Press. I’m always looking for creative way to find readers 🙂

        Keep smiling,
        Yawatta

  5. Hi,

    This is part of the reason I deleted my short story off of my blog. My new rule is only to post what I don’t ever plan to submit for publication. I’m still working out the voice of my blog, so we’ll see where that takes me. You shouldn’t feel bad – the world of publishing is changing at a rapid rate due to the internet and self-publishing. I don’t think everyone’s figured out the rules yet. Keep up the submitting!

    • Ah ok, that makes sense. You are a lovely writer 🙂 Yeah, you can actually post the story after a certain amount of time after publishing, just not before. Live and learn I suppose!

    • Yep, that’s very true! I’m glad I figured it out now vs. later. I found several publications I can still submit to, but it definitely cut down the number of prestigious ones I can submit to. Lesson learned 😉

  6. It’s tricky keeping up with the publication rules. I did read some time ago that posting on a blog does count as publication (since I can’t seem to get off my duff and submit stuff, it doesn’t really impact me, haha.) I do have a few things that I posted as micro fiction on my blog and based on the responses, I expanded the storyline and changed the scope of it. Since it’s no longer the entire piece, I think I could submit those (again, if I ever get around to doing it!)

    • Yes, that would probably be okay. With novels it’s not as bad since the final edit often changes to be something different. I did find a few publications that said blogs were okay or didn’t specify. So I removed my short stories and will wait till the internet caches clear before submitting to those. But I’m not sending those two stories to publications that clearly state they don’t want something if it’s already been submitted online. It’s just too risky and dishonest :$ I scoured through the guidelines of like 100 literary journals last night XD Found quite a few that were okay with it like Glimmer Train. Next time I’m not posting them on my blog or Fictionpress. Literary critique sites that are password protected are okay, so I’ll get my feedback that way from now on. I also found some critique groups that meet in person in my area. Might try those out. I definitely need help polishing my short stories as I’m not objective enough to do so myself :$

  7. Wow, this is really good to know. I just started a separate writing blog here on wordpress just for the purposes of sharing my work. I’m kind of reconsidering that now. I don’t know if any of the work I want to publish, I’d submit to magazines, but this is very good information to have.

    Thanks!

    • Yeah I know :/ Kind of takes some of the fun out of it. You can share your work on password protected critique sites like LegendFire. The internet can’t pick it up because it’s password protected. But I guess if you wanted to be super duper safe, even that is kind of risky because you are still posting it online, technically. The good news is that you can publish it on your blog after publication 🙂 I made a list of literary magazines that take blog-published stories. I deleted my stories so I could eventually submit to literary magazines that either specifically say it’s okay, or don’t mention anything about first publishing rights. I’m going to try to meet up with a local literary critique site because I need help editing my stories :$ I’m not objective enough to do it.

Leave a Reply

