Literary Magazines Taking Blog Published Short Stories

So I spent the past two days combing the internet for literary magazines that would take short stories previously published on blogs.  I deleted my stories, but they are still available in cache form, which apparently takes weeks to months to disappear.  And I thought about it, and realized I couldn’t submit my blog published short stories to any magazine that specifically says no prior online/blog publication.  Even if I can’t find any trace left, it goes against the principles of their literary magazine, and I would likely be consumed with guilt.  I stole a penny from a friend at 5 years old and felt guilty for the next 5 years.  By guilty I mean I had trouble sleeping at night because I felt so awful about it.  I like being able to sleep at night.  Also, if they managed to be super tech saavy, they would probably add me to some blacklist of dishonest writers.  But some of them don’t specify, so I would feel okay submitting to those.  It’s okay to publish short stories on literary critique sites like “Legendfire,” because they are password protected.  There are no signs of my stories on Legendfire because of that, so I deleted them off of that site for nothing XD  Actually, I think you can publish your short stories on your blog if they are password protected (a feature WordPress allows), and I might look into that so friends can read it.

Anyway, I compiled a list of like 50 publications that either say it’s okay if your story was blog-published, don’t specify, or say it’s conditional.  Some say they may consider it depending on the story, meaning if your story is super amazing they might be willing to accept it.  I can publish links to these publications if anyone would like me to.  I was going to do it, but it seems pointless if no one is interested but me, lol.  Some journals are more notable than others, like Glimmer Train.  You can kind of tell the quality of the journal based on their internet site.  Not always.  There are various measures of what makes a literary journal more prestigious than others, but I bookmarked so many of them it was hard to keep track.  All of them recommend reading their latest issue before submitting your pieces for publication, so you can tell the quality from that.  Many of them either have archived issues, or a few selected stories on their website.

6 thoughts on “Literary Magazines Taking Blog Published Short Stories

    • I think most of them don’t care, especially not the ones with online submission forms. Story contests tend to be more strict about where you come from. I cruised through these as an American, so some of them might not take international submissions. I’m in the process of assembling the list. I’ll keep an eye out for it 🙂

Leave a Reply

