I’m an INFP aka An Introverted Dreamer and Idealist

The inspiration for this post came from Yawatta Hosby’s post: You Know You’re an INTJ when. . .

After reading the list Yawatta provided, I realized I’m definitely not an INTJ.  My closest friends are though, and I’m pretty different than them.  I took the test on this site: Free Personality Test.  They don’t require you to sign up for anything or enter you e-mail to get the results.  You are categorized as one of the 16 Myers-Briggs defined personalities.  It classified me as an INFP, which stands for introversion, intuition, feeling, and perception.  I’m not sure how accurate the test is, but INFP describes me perfectly.  If you’d like more info on the 16 types Wikipedia has a great article on it: Wikipedia: Myers-Briggs Personality Types

I’ll list out some of the personality traits of INFP that apply to me

1.  INFPs are idealists and look for the good in any situation.  They try to find meaning in life, and make the world a better place.  

Yes, this describes me pretty well.  This is probably why after so many negative interactions with people I keep persevering.  For all of the evil in the world, there is so much more goodness to counteract it.  I try to make sense of the bad in the world, and turn it into something good.  I’m constantly trying to be nice to other people, and it’s because it makes me feel good.  So I guess it’s not that altruistic.  I get a rush of adrenaline when I help other people.  I love it.  Nothing makes me happier than making a friend or loved one happy, which includes my kittes :3  If I see a homeless man with a dog outside of a store, I will go into the store and buy both of them some food.  My husband and I don’t have a lot of money, but we have enough to spare for me to feed a homeless man and his dog when I happen upon them.  It’s the least I can do :$

2. They are motivated by beauty, honor, and virtue, and they take pride in this.  Others may not understand the underlying principles of an INFP and that can lead to isolation.

Actually, I really dislike this part about myself.  I’m very honest and it is hard for me not to be that way.  It’s not that I can’t lie, it’s just that I don’t like to.  If I have to lie a bit to prevent myself from hurting someone I will, but it’s not a habit of mine.  I’m very much like a cat in that aspect.  A cat can’t pretend to like something or someone if they don’t.  The plus side is that I’m a genuine person.  My mom joked that I could never get into trouble because I would tell on myself.  Yep, pretty much XD

3. INFPs often drift into deep thought, enjoying contemplation more so than any of the other personality types.  They can get carried away and lose themselves in thought to the point that they need a friend or family member to pull them back to reality.

This happens to me all the time.  I’m often lost in my thoughts.  This is one reason I try to stay away from sad and/or introspective movies, books, and video games.  The experience overwhelms with so many emotions that I have to withdraw from society to make sense of it all.  After reading Orwell’s 1984 as a teen I didn’t want to talk to anyone for days.  Same thing happened with Vonnegut’s, Slaughter House Five, and Peter S. Beagle’s, The Last Unicorn.  The video game, Crisis Core, had me bawling for days after it ended.  I was so sad I could barely eat.  Anything that makes me sad or think really hard will often make me a hermit.  My loved ones have to pull me out of my cave and back to reality.

4. They hate conflict and go to great lengths to avoid it.  If they get involved they place little importance on who is right or wrong, but how it makes them feel.  They don’t want to feel badly, and this may make them appear illogical to others.

I think this describes my situation with my recent fanfiction drama perfectly XD  In the end it didn’t matter who was right or wrong.  I felt so horrible I wanted to starve myself, and I hate that feeling.  I was tired of being miserable and scared, so I had to leave.  I bet the people I left behind might be going WTF because they didn’t expect me to just leave XD  And that’s the worst thing I could do to them.  They accused me of being the eternal victim, as if I enjoyed playing that role.  I didn’t want to be the victim or attacker.  I just wanted to write.  In general though I really dislike conflict and try hard to avoid it.  That’s why I have also distanced myself from my parents.  I don’t want to fight with them anymore.  I’m tired of the inevitable conflict that arises when we get together.

5. INFPs are flexible and laid back until one of their principles is violated, and then they get fired up and fight passionately for their cause.  

If anyone messes with a loved one, I can get pretty mean.  One of my sister’s boyfriend was a huge jerk, and I sent him several nasty Facebook messages condemning what he did to her.  My sister’s current fiance is controlling, and my parents gave me so much crap for bringing it up.  In the end, I didn’t care.  I was looking out for her best interest because she’s my little sister so it was worth the fight.  I’m also pretty passionate about other issues like feline activism.  I went on a few Youtube videos and educated several people who were trying to say private ownership of exotic cats was a good thing.  I never looked back to see their responses.  I didn’t want to fight.  I just wanted to inform people about how cruel it was.

6. They communicate easily with others, often employing the use of metaphors and symbolism to share their ideas.   

Yes, I love talking with others and using metaphors XD

7. Many INFP’s have a talent for expressing themselves through fictional characters.  

This might explain why I can’t write creative non-fiction.  I tried, and I can’t do it.  I don’t really enjoy it either.  Fiction is just much easier to write for me.

8.  In contradiction to their extroverted equivalent, INFP’s will focus their energy on a few people.  Their affection spread out over too many people will exhaust them.  

Yes, I have a few select friends that I hold dear to my heart, and I expend most of my energy on them.  If I’m depressed I withdraw into myself, and I only speak to one or two of my closest friends because it’s too exhausting to talk to all of my friends.  I like to have “me” time as well.

9. Their affection, creativity, altruism, and idealism rewards those they love with a world view that inspires compassion and beauty.

I’d sound like an arrogant jackass if I said this was true.  But I’ve had a few close friends tell me that they find me inspiring :$  It’s not that I try to be.  I’m just trying to make sense of the world, and I’m a fighter.  When I get knocked down, my friends help prop me up until I find my strength again.  Then I’m off running till the next roadblock trips me up, and I fall down.

10. INFP’s have very high standards that they hold themselves and the rest of the world to.  They have to balance their perfectionism with the reality of life, and often find themselves lost in-between.

This is me.  I’m a perfectionist, and I’m never good enough for myself.  I have really tried to shift the focus off of defined goals because I will never meet them and will be constantly disappointing myself.  When I first started writing fiction, I wanted to be another Cormac McCarthy.  Unfortunately, in my mind I will never be a great writer no matter how good I am, so I try to think of myself on a journey to improve instead.  It’s an achievable goal that allows me to not disappoint myself 🙂

These sites were used for this post: Psychology Traits of INFP (About.com)Personality page INFPINFP Personality Subtype (16personalities.com)

What personality type are you?  What personality type are your friends?

10 thoughts on “I’m an INFP aka An Introverted Dreamer and Idealist

  1. I might just write a post like this later on, it really helped me get to know you better!

    I myself am an INFJ (my high school made everyone take personality tests when submitting their applications because it corresponds to our ‘learning styles’). I find that once you know the different types and you know a person really well, you can actually guess their personality code – I guessed my brother’s perfectly (INTP)!

    This might be a terrible thing to say, but I can actually tell who I’d be good friends with based on their personality type… All of my high school friends were introverts as well 😛

    • I think the personality tests are fun 😀 You should make a post like this ^^ In this chart you are the one right next to me, lol: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/1/1f/MyersBriggsTypes.png

      My two closest friends are INTJ. Well, one hasn’t taken the test, but I’m 99% sure that’s what she is XD I had one of them take the test tonight and she was an INTJ XD I think the reason I bond so well with INTJ types is that they are ruled by logic and they don’t really care what other people think. It’s the total opposite of me, so they help calm me down when I’m upset. But as an INFP I tend to be much more sociable, so it just works out really well 🙂 I think a lot of writers are introverts because we enjoy a slower pace, which allows us more time for contemplation. I think my sister would be an INFJ. She’s so much like me, but definitely ruled by logic instead of feelings. I’m going to see if I can get my husband to take the test this weekend. I actually think he might be an extrovert XD Thanks for the comment 🙂

  2. I took the test and I’m an ISFJ. Here’s what it said about the type: “The ISFJ personality type is a unique group, in that many of their qualities often defy the definition of their individual personality traits. Though they possess the Feeling (F) trait, ISFJs have excellent analytical abilities; though they are Introverted (I), they have well-developed people skills and robust social relationships; and even though they are a Judging (J) type, as are all Sentinels (SJ), ISFJs are often receptive to change and new ideas. As with so many things, ISFJs are more than the sum of their parts, and it is the way they use these strengths that defines who they are.”

    I love personality tests. Thanks for posting this! I might just have to sum it up in my own blog post 🙂

    • Yeah, we have the I and F in common XD Oh, interesting. INFPs are very social with people they know, but introverted with strangers. I think many writers are introverts. Funny how introversion can vary so much between the 8 different introverted types. I definitely wish I was more logical at times. I’m ruled by my heart more than my mind. That’s why I tend to pick friends that are more analytical and logical than me XD My two best friends are both INTJs. I think it would be a great idea to post on your blog :3 Then your blogger friends could take it too ^^

      • Haha, I just took the test from a friend’s point of view but put in all the answers that I would put in myself, and got ISTJ, which is more logical. I am pretty much anything but fully logical. 😛

        “The ISTJ personality type is thought to be the most abundant, making up around 13% of the population. Their defining characteristics of integrity, practical logic and tireless dedication to duty make ISTJs a vital core to many families, as well as organizations that uphold traditions, rules and standards, such as law offices, regulatory bodies and even military. ISTJs enjoy taking responsibility for their actions, and take pride in the work they do – when working towards a goal, ISTJs will hold back none of their time and energy completing each relevant task with accuracy and patience.”

  3. Sounds like we have some things in common. I’m pretty straightforward and blunt, and I avoid conflict like the plague. It’s fun daydreaming for me at least, and I like to make sense of the world too. I’m sorry that you withdraw when you’re sad. In those types of situations, I have to keep moving and keep my mind busy; otherwise, I’d get really depressed.

    Keep smiling,
    Yawatta

    • Yeah, my emotions are so strong that I don’t have much control over them. The only control I do have is being exposed to things that make me feel negative emotions. That’s why I had to leave fanfiction. I was being bullied for months and despite the fact that I never said anything publicly it was escalating. And the funny thing is when I left it didn’t matter to me anymore who was wrong or right. I was suffering, and that’s what they wanted, so I wasn’t going to let them have that. The problem is is that even though I do keep moving, my brain still automatically switches to the negative emotions. I posted so much on my blog in the past week because I was too upset to write :/ I’m okay again. But I decided to never look back on my fanfiction profile because I don’t want to be upset.

      • Hey Paper Butterfly,

        See I lack things like that. If someone’s trying to bully me, I can tune them out. I don’t care what people think of me, but I respect people’s opinions, regarding my writing and stuff.

        I’m sorry you had a bad experience on that fan fiction site. I don’t know why some people like to be cruel; just remember usually bullies truly hate themselves. At least, you love yourself 🙂

        I wish I could work on expressing myself more, like wearing my heart on my sleeve. The concept just seems so foreign to me LOL. I’m always giving myself social experiments, so I may have already tried being open for a week. Maybe I can try it again.

        Keep smiling,
        Yawatta

Leave a Reply

