I Got a Job :D

Actually, right now it’s a conditional offer of employment.  I don’t want to get into the logistics of it, and hopefully I’m not jinxing myself by posting this :$  But I spent about a week looking for a job, and I didn’t expect to find one so soon.  I’m in a healthcare profession that requires a graduate degree, but I don’t want to get into the specifics of my job.  Maybe I will someday.

Whenever I do something, I put my all into it.  After learning I got the job, I switched into “hermit mode.”  I’ve been using most of my energy to relearn the material I had forgotten in the interim between graduation and the present.  Working means I’ll have less time to write, which is okay.  I went through nine years of college for this career, and it’s something I enjoy and have a passion for.  Writing was a happy accident that I only discovered after I became disabled from chronic pain.  I still don’t consider myself a “writer.”  It’s more like a hobby at this point, which is fine.  Someday I might consider it as something more.

It feels like a huge turning point in my life to get here since I was bedbound for the past few years due to hip pain and multiple surgeries.  My husband and parents were probably more excited than I was XD  Anyway, that’s why I just dropped off the map.  In the future I will probably switch to part-time so I have more time for writing and family.  My husband and I want two kids, and that would be difficult to accomplish with two full-time working parents.

I’ll still be able to write while working.  I just have to be more focused.  In grad school I worked like 60-80 hour weeks during my internship and still managed to write.  That was also shortly after my first hip surgery and my spine was beginning to crumble so I had daily migraines, pain on swallowing, and shooting nerve pain down my arm that felt like an hot electric wire.  I remember the doctors trying to convince me that NOTHING WAS WRONG with my spine.  Well, there was something wrong, but that’s a story for another day.  Did I mention that I also beta read for friends during this time period?  No idea how I survived XD

In a few weeks I’ll be around more often.  There’s a lot of things going on right now.  I’m still battling Anthem Blue Cross with two appeals regarding my hip surgery.  The deadline is coming up on one of them.  They have been absolutely horrible during this whole process.  I had to get a pro bono attorney to help me fight it.

8 thoughts on “I Got a Job :D

  1. Congrats on the job! I’ve been searching for a job to do from home so I know how exciting this must be to finally get a job (still searching…). Will this job be in person or telecommute? (Just wondering – no need to answer).

    A writer is a writer is a writer. Even if it is a hobby, I think someone is still considered a writer. Writing is my hobby as well. Do you know about NaNoWriMo? Will you be participating this November?

    I’m sorry to hear about the disagreements going on with your insurance. I hope everything will be resolved soon.

    Have a good weekend!

    • It will be in person. That’s why I couldn’t work for several years, lol. I was not physically able to sit or stand because of my bad hips until this most recent hip surgery. Yes, I know what NaNoWriMo is 😛 I’ve been writing on and off for five years, and have yet to participate XD I’m not against it. I think my biggest caveat is the sheer number of words you are supposed to write. I’m a slow writer. I’ve had several friends participate. I guess the other part is that I just don’t feel the need to do it. It feels kind of weird to be so apathetic to something most people are strongly supporting, but I guess that’s just me :$ I wasn’t into Harry Potter either, and that feels a bit weird because most everyone I know loves it. Again, I’m not against it. I just never felt the need to read the books, lol. Thanks for the lovely comment 🙂

      • That sounds so exciting!

        Oh NaNoWriMo is not for everyone. Sometimes I enjoy it and sometimes I don’t. And all writers have different styles and habits. I just think it’s a fun thing to do.

        I’m a big fan of Harry Potter! LOL. And you’re right about that as well!

      • A lot of people enjoy NaNoWriMo 🙂 One of my close friends participates in it frequently. It just feels weird to be apathetic about it XD That’s definitely true. There is no one right way to write, and it does vary depending on the individual. I might participate in it sometime just to try it out.

  2. Ah Butterfly, I’m so happy for you!!! 😀 The amount of bloggers out there who pursue writing degrees only and are out of work is ENORMOUS. I’m so glad you’ll still be writing. It’s important to; after my mom pursued a career and had me, she gave up entirely, and though she still has these AWESOME ideas, she never has time to write. :\

    Hope all goes well with your hip surgery! I’m glad you’re out of bed and ready to go conquer the world now! 😀

    • Yes, I’ll have to be more efficient with my time. I did write while working those 60-80 hour weeks because I was determined and self-disciplined. The most I’ll have to work with this job is 40 hours a week 😛 And I’m better physically for the most part. I feel glad that I went through so many years of college because I can work a job I enjoy. I definitely encourage you to be a veterinarian 🙂 You have such a strong passion for helping animals. I mean you might end up changing your mind since you are still young. I chose my career after the first year of college. I was torn between an English and Chemistry major, but Chemistry fit better with my grad school’s requirements. In retrospect, I should have been a life science major. I loved Chemistry, but I was tossed in with the engineering, physics, and math majors when it came to math and physics requirements. I struggled to get A’s and B’s in those classes. UC Berkeley kicked my butt XD

      The funny thing is that I make double what my husband does ($60/hour), but we decided I would be the one to stay home part-time once we have kids. It was a concession I had to make when I married him. A Japanese mans’s identity revolves around their job and ability to provide for their families. I’d rather have a happy family than more money. At first my husband was kind of bitter that I would make more money than him. That was seven years ago when we first got married. Now he’s realized money is money regardless of who earns it XD To say that he’s super supportive of me working would be an understatement, lol.

      Oh, I already had my hip surgery XD The last one was in May of this year. It was my third and hopefully final one. I might need my screws taken out, but that’s a minor procedure comparatively. I’ve had friends my age with about 7 hip surgeries because they kept failing. So I know there is a chance of that happening despite the fact that I had one of the best hip preservation surgeons in the world. But if it happens, it happens. It’s pointless to worry about something that might not even happen.

  3. Many many Congrats for getting an awesome job that early and what matters is that you like it. You are such a nice person, I assume you will do great with your job too. Wishing you all the happiness and success. Much Love ❤

Leave a Reply

