The Light Flickers Within Our Hearts

A close friend of mine is struggling, and she’s much younger than me.  For her birthday, I got her the book All the Light We Cannot See.  It’s a beautiful metaphor for life.  As an aside, it’s an amazing book. Anyway, I went searching for an inspirational quote to put inside the front cover, but I couldn’t find one that fit her specific situation and used light as a metaphor.  So I wrote some inspiring words for her, or at least I attempted to do that XD

“During the bleakest moments we walk in the shadows, fumbling around in our search for answers. If we look hard enough we’ll find that the light is within our hearts. Sometimes it is buried under so many layers of grief and sorrow it seems an impossible task to uncover it, but it has always bee there. Never give up. Even if we can’t see it, the light flickers within, a bastion of hope in the desolate landscape of life.”

Inside of the Book Cover 

dedication2

I cut the names out for obvious reasons.  I could probably write something better if I spent enough time on it.  I just realized I used the word “within” twice.  Oops XD  Hopefully she likes it 🙂

I’ve been away for a bit.  It’s a combination of things.  I became addicted to the literary critque site Scribophile.  I’m editing the umpteenth draft of my suicide story, and will then submit it to a few literature magazines.  I’ve started on another short story.  I’m getting an MRI + contrast/lidocaine injection on Oct. 14th.  My hip surgery may have failed, and I’ve cried so many tears over it.  It might not be so bad without the partial dislocations, but they are frequent, sometimes happening 4+ times a month.  It’s as painful as it sounds.  My husband’s family is coming over from Japan in October.  I’m so excited 😀  I haven’t seen them since I hurt myself seven years ago.  I’m still working full time as a retail pharmacist, which can be very stressful.  My parents moved to the other side of the country, and our relationship has improved.  In the midst of it all I’m trying to get pregnant XD   I’ve been having issues with anxiety, but I try to just take each day as it comes.  I find it helps me cope with life.

4 thoughts on “The Light Flickers Within Our Hearts

  1. I absolutely love All the Light We Cannot See! I read it less than two weeks ago and couldn’t stop thinking about it for days afterwards, so I hope she likes the book. And I’m sorry to hear about your hip – that sounds horrible and painful, and I hope that your treatment goes successfully!

    In other words, I deleted my old blog and started afresh at http://starrywriteblog.wordpress.com, and I’d love if you could follow me on there. I’m dropping by on all my favorite blogs that I met through my old blog, just so that you know I haven’t fallen off the face of the earth!

    Take care!
    Meghna

  2. What lovely words to say to your friend. I think it’s more meaningful that you wrote something of your own for her, so I’d say it’s a good thing you couldn’t find a quote. 🙂

    I haven’t read this book but I’ve heard lots of good things about it. It’s on my to-read list.

    I’m sorry you’re going through so much right now. I hope things improve soon. 😦

Leave a Reply

